Ohio Senators Enter Bill to Make Daylight Savings Time Permanent

For any of us that hate having to “Spring Forward” every March and “Fall Back” every November, those days of hunting down your instruction manuals twice a year to change your car radio clocks may be over. 

Senate Bill 119, known as the Ohio Sunshine Protection Act is sponsored by Senators Kristina Roegner of Hudson and Bob Peterson of Fayette County.  According to NBC affiliate WKYC, the decision came after Roegner went to Facebook and asked her followers what they thought about the possibility of the change.  According to her, the response was “overwhelmingly positive.”

If passed, Ohio SB 119 would forever leave Ohio in the “Sprung Forward” position, while also banning any localities from individually opting out of the plan.  Ohio would be one of only a handful of states that would not observe tradition Daylight Savings rules.  Florida Lawmakers passed their own Sunshine Protection Act.  Hawaii and Arizona also do not follow the rule of DST.

The movement has also been given traction on the Federal level with Sen. Marco Rubio of Florida recently introducing the Sunshine Protection Act to make DST permanent across the entire United States.  President Donald Trump has also voiced his approval of the Act.

Should the Act pass, the change would take place January 1st, 2020.

© 2019, Newspaper Staff. All rights reserved.

Be the first to comment on "Ohio Senators Enter Bill to Make Daylight Savings Time Permanent"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.