Edon High School Announces “Footloose” Cast

The Music Department at Edon High School is pleased to announce the cast for its fall musical production Footloose. Auditions were held last month and cast rehearsals are now in full swing.

Inspired by the 1984 hit movie starring Kevin Bacon, the musical includes chart-topping songs once committed to memory ~ “Almost Paradise”, “Holding Out For A Hero”, “Let’s Hear It For The Boy” and the title song “Footloose” ~ along with new material written specifically for the stage. Since debuting on Broadway in 1998, many fans have declared: if you liked the movie, you’ll love the musical!

Filled with high-energy dancing, toe-tapping music, delightful comedy and powerful emotion, Footloose tells how a lighthearted boy from the city grudgingly moves to small-town Texas only to discover his much-loved music and dancing are strictly forbidden. Underlying his attempt to adapt to this new way of life ~ as well as challenging local authorities ~ is a tender, heartfelt story of a father longing for the son he lost and a young man aching for the father who abandoned him.

The highly-anticipated EHS production features a vastly talented ensemble cast with senior and “veteran actor” Mike Peeples taking on the lead character of Ren McCormack; playing opposite him and holding her own as Ariel Moore, the “preacher’s daughter”, is sophomore Kaitlyn Sonneberger. Rounding out the cast will be: Alex Baker (Rev. Shaw Moore), Cassidy Wilson (Vi Moore), Corisa Brown (Ethel McCormack), Jordan Matthews (Rusty), Wyatt Zulch (Willard Hewitt), River Wicker (Jeter), Kaden Sapp (Bickle), Evan Fisk (Garvin), Shannon Wieland (Wendy Jo), Andrea Cherin (Urleen), Colten Lyman (Chuck), Kenny Ordway (Lyle), Heath Brown (Travis), Baylee Gearhart (Lulu), Kaylie Brown (Elanor), Alexis Mitchell (Principal Clark), Crista Wortkoetter (Cowgirl Crista), Haley Jacoby (Betty Blast), Roxana Klempner (Coach Dunbar), Zane Eicher (Wes), Andrew LaDuke (Cop); Brittany Combs, Hailey Engel, Chelsea Mocherman, Karli Munger, Mikaela Myers, Luke Price, JJ Braun, Alyson Bergdall, Josh Braun, Katie Church, Alyssa Maier, Braden Miller, Sarah Lemmon, Karissa Sonneberger (Student Body at Beaumont High School) and Baylee Gearhart, Haley Jacoby, Kaitlyn Manahan, Emily Kaylor, Alexia Ewers, Kaela Gearhart, Hannah Kaylor, Shaylee Manahan, Paige Schaffter and Samantha Trausch (Principle Dancers).

This year’s musical is being directed by Cathy Frastaci and Crystal Bowers; senior Corisa Brown will assist them as student director.

Tickets for November’s performances are slated to go on sale mid-October at Edon Northwest Local Schools.


© 2013 – 2016, Newspaper Staff. All rights reserved.

Be the first to comment on "Edon High School Announces “Footloose” Cast"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.