EDGERTON VILLAGE COUNCIL: Two New Council Members, Two Re-Elected Council Members Sworn-In

READY TO GET STARTED … Left to right, are Edgerton re-elected council member Tom Karnes, newly elected council members Sharon Blinzer and Pam Wampler and re-elected council member Jason Gruver. All four took the oath of office at the Tuesday, January 4, 2022 council meeting. (PHOTO BY DANIEL COOLEY, STAFF)

By: Daniel Cooley

The Village of Edgerton council meeting of January 4, 2022 began with the Pledge of Allegiance. Mayor Robert Day then began the meeting with a prayer.

Roll call was then taken. Five council members, Pam Wampler, Jason Gruver, Chuck Wallace, Tom Karnes and Sharon Blinzer, were in attendance. Leslie VanAusdale was absent.

Two newly elected council members, Blinzer and Wampler and two re-elected council members, Karnes and Gruver, took the oath of office.

Karnes was then elected as the 2022 Council Pro Temper. Village council then approved the minutes of the December 21, 2021 meeting.

Police Chief Gary Plotts then introduced new police member Ashland Morey, from Bryan. “I’m excited to learn and am looking forward to this new journey,” Morey said.

Plotts reported that there were 46 calls from December 10, 2021 to January 4, 2022. He also gave an update on the new police cruisers, that they hope to have them in operation by the middle of January. Day stated that he has received a lot of favorable comments regarding the police department.

Village Administrator Dawn Fitzcharles asked for a meeting regarding wage and compensation. It was decided that the meeting will take place at 6 p.m., right before the next regularly scheduled council meeting.

In addition, Fitzcharles reported that ASPLUNDH will be in town for the next six weeks, for tree trimming. They will not remove stumps, though. Fiscal Officer Denise Knecht reported that the December 2021 budget was emailed Wednesday and that the 2020 budget has been closed out.

As far as 2022 goes, Knecht asked that the last payroll be moved back to the second pay period, because the latest one became a little too tight for processing. Council approved the request.

Next, the village council approved the legal representation of Richards and Walker Ltd. for 2022.

Council then approved Resolution number 2022-01. This Resolution, according to the agenda for January 4, provided “for the establishment of a new fund consistent with the requirements of Ohio Revised Code 709 (F) and re-activation of a previous fund.” The funds involved ODOT and the FEMA Fund.

Mayor Day then presented the committee assignments. Here are the assignments:

Public Safety: Karnes, Blinzer and VanAusdale; Public Service: Blinzer, Wampler and Wallace; Finance: Gruver, Karnes and Wallace; Rules: VanAusdale, Gruver and Karnes; Wage and Compensation: Wallace, Gruver and Wampler; Maple Grove Cemetery Board: Wallace; Firemen’s Dependency Board: Denise Knecht, Day, Mike Krill, Scott Blue and Chad Schlie; Board of Zoning Appeals: Day, Sue Harrold, Leo Font and Karnes; Williams County Planning Commission: Day; Edgerton Development: Day and Blue; Edgerton Planning Committee: Day, Karnes, Larry Welch, Camie Hicks and Preston Knecht; Citizen’s Advisory Committee: Day and Clerk-treasurer; village solicitor, Greg Jennings and Amanda Herman; Edgerton Park Board: Hicks, Amanda Giesige; Tree Commission: Chuck Merriman, Wallace and Al Perez; Downtown Improvement Committee: Day, Edgerton Retail Committee Member, Chamber of Commerce Member, Council member and Fitzcharles; Revolving Loan Fund Board: Day, Denise Knecht, Karnes, Fitzcharles, Edgerton Development Corporation; Chamber of Commerce; Hicksville Bank Loan Officer; Safety Policy Commission: Day, Karnes, Fitzcharles, Wastewater/Water Superintendent; Street Superintendent, Blue and Gary Plotts.

The meeting then opened up for council discussion. Wallace gave advice to new members. “You’re not going to please everyone, so don’t try,” Wallace said. “And don’t make promises.”

“The most valuable resource is other committee members,” added Karnes “They are so helpful.” “Understand that the wheels of government go slow,” Gruver said. “Have patience and stick to your goals”, said Gruver to the new members.

Knecht thanked Fitzcharles for being a good leader. The meeting then moved to executive session, which is not open to the public.

Dan can be reached at publisher@thevillagereporter.com

Free Email News Updates

Join over 5,000+ local readers who receive email updates highlighting the newest local Williams County - Fulton County area news, sports and obituary listings.   Opt-out at any time, 100% free service.

By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive marketing emails from: The Village Reporter, 115 Broad Street, Montpelier, OH, 43543, https://www.thevillagereporter.com. You can revoke your consent to receive emails at any time by using the SafeUnsubscribe® link, found at the bottom of every email. Emails are serviced by Constant Contact

Be the first to comment on "EDGERTON VILLAGE COUNCIL: Two New Council Members, Two Re-Elected Council Members Sworn-In"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.