Hilltop Cadets Hold Spring Softball Awards; Bleikamp Named BBC Player Of The Year

WEST UNITY, May 30, 2014: The Hilltop Lady Cadets held their 2014 Spring Softball Awards on May 30, at the West Unity Memorial Park on a picture perfect early evening. In addition to the awards, the players were also treated to a outdoor cookout and party for their efforts on the season as the 2014 BBC Softball Champions.

Hilltop Senior Hannah Bleikamp needed a truck to take her awards home for the evening, as the Lady Cadet received her 4th Year Varsity Award, The Team Captain Award, The Coaches Award, the Top Offensive Player of the Year Award, BBC player of the Year Award and was recognized as a BBC Scholar Athlete as well as a member of the BBC 1st Team. Bleikamp finishes her career for the Lady Cadets owning a long list of records all time for Hilltop: Single Season Hitting Records-Runs (39), Hits (49), Doubles (11(, Home Runs (7), Batting Average (.563), On Base Percentage (.625), Slugging Percentage (.957:2012). Career Hitting Records: Games (87), At Bats (285), Runs (123), Hits (134), Doubles (35), Homeruns (18), RBI’s (88), Batting Average (.470), On-Base-Percentage (.527) and Slugging Percentage (.818).
Also notable for the 2014 BBC Champion Lady Cadets: Sophomore Bailey Funkhouser pitched the first ever perfect game in the history of Hilltop Softball during this season.
The following students were recognized for their performance for the 2014 Spring Sports Season:

BBC Scholar Athletes
The following Junior and Senior Lady Cadets were recognized as BBC Scholar Athletes for the 2014 Spring Sports Season: Seniors Hannah Bleikamp, Brooke Chapin, LeAnn Joost, Brittany Mocherman and Juniors Shayla Coffman, Jessica Suboski, and Adrian Yates.

BBC Honorable Mention/BBC 2nd Team/BBC 1st Team
The following Lady Cadets were recognized: Hannah Bleikamp (1st Team), Brooke Chapin (2nd Team), Brittany Mocherman (1st Team), Sydney Schmitt (Honorable Mention), Shayla Coffman (2nd Team), Adreyn Yates (Honorable Mention), Bailey Funkhouser (2nd Team), and Allie Schmitt (Honorable Mention).

Coaches Awards
Coaches Award Recipients this year for the Lady Cadets were: Hannah Bleikamp named Team Offensive Player of the Year, Team Captain Award and the 2014 Coaches Award. Brittany Mocherman was named the Most Improved for 2014 and received the Team defensive Award.

© 2014 – 2016, Newspaper Staff. All rights reserved.

Be the first to comment on "Hilltop Cadets Hold Spring Softball Awards; Bleikamp Named BBC Player Of The Year"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.