Fayette Local Board Of Education Approves Measures Supporting The Fayette Virtual School

Members of the Fayette Local Board of Education convened in regular session on the evening of September 23.

The Board agreed to the permanent appropriations for fiscal year 2014, and accepted a donation from Target in the amount of $25.22 for the Elementary Principal Fund, and a donation from Gene Rupp in the amount of $300.00 for Fayette Virtual School expenses.

The Board approved a contract with the Fulton County Health Sports Medicine Outreach Program to provide Athletic Training consultation and/or treatment services for a rate of $20.50 per hour for 2013-2014. Pearson was authorized to furnish Grad Point and Connection Learning for Online Virtual School Services, including student seats, course seats and teacher training for fiscal year 2014.

The Board also approved the statement of work from Connections Learning to include the counties that the Fayette Virtual School will serve K-12 educational products and services to, which includes Fulton, Lucas, Wood, Williams, Defiance, Henry, Paulding, Ottawa, Sandusky, Seneca, Erie and Huron Counties. Finally, the Board entered into a four year Depository Agreement from State Bank & Trust Company beginning August 21, 2013, through August 20, 2017.

In matters pertaining to students, the Board approved allowing the FFA members to attend the FFA National Convention from October 30 to November 2 at Louisville, Kentucky, as well as the Spanish Club trip to Panama for 8 days and 7 nights in June, 2014.

In personnel decisions, the Board approved the substitute teachers list provided by the Northwest Ohio Education Service Center, as well as FMLA leave for Wendy Adams and Sarah Weiland.

Pending appropriate reference and background checks, the Board consented to a list of classroom volunteers, including…

Michelle Becker
Daun Figgins
Kristan Hiler
Anne Merillat
Abbie Seiler
Sandra Strickler
Jennifer Williams
Jackie Biddix
Amy Gorsuch
Melissa Kessler
Amanda Oehlers
Kori Sliwinski
Laura VanderHorst
Nicole Boyd
Jennifer Gregory
Stephanie Leininger
Stacie Ramay
Jan Stokes
Mary Jane Venegas

The Board approved the Athletic Coaches’ Handbook for 2013-2014. The Board agreed to the hire of Danny C. Smith as a fulltime bus driver for the Four County Bus PM route for 2013-2014, as well as JoAnn Cousino as a substitute bus drive for fiscal year 2014, pending the proper paperwork transferred from Archbold Area Schools. The Board hired Laura VanderHorst for classified substitute work for cafeteria, secretary, custodial and study hall monitor, and Barbara Lester for classified substitute work as custodian.

Under the category of paid supplemental positions, the Board added Suzette Boesger as 2014 Co-Prom Director and Class of 2015 advisor and Sheila Killam and Clete Stechschulte as Science Club advisors for 2013-2014. Ryan Colegrove was added as Class of 2017 advisor, and Geoff Gilmore and John Keys were named Class of 2019 advisors in additions to the non-paid supplemental staff.


© 2013 – 2016, Newspaper Staff. All rights reserved.

Be the first to comment on "Fayette Local Board Of Education Approves Measures Supporting The Fayette Virtual School"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.